2019 Medicine that Matters Gala


Since 1985, Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program (BHCHP) has been dedicated to a singular, powerful mission—to provide or assure access to the highest quality health care for Boston’s homeless men, women and children. Today we care for over 11,000 patients in over 45 locations each year. We believe the compassion and dignity we show through our care is Medicine that Matters, and we are proud to be known for our innovation and effectiveness in serving our most vulnerable neighbors.

The unique care at Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program is defined by these four attributes:

Compassion – Our committed staff care for our patients with the highest level of empathy, deeply understanding the struggles of their challenging lives.

Innovation – We pioneer and develop best practices that address the complex and changing needs of our patients, share our knowledge, and support the adoption of these practices throughout the country.

Effectiveness – Our highly skilled caregivers deliver and coordinate the most effective care to our patients, addressing complicated medical and behavioral health conditions that are difficult and profound.

Dignity – We strive to restore human dignity to our patients, treating them with respect and a genuine admiration for their courage and resiliency in enduring poverty and homelessness.

When & Where

Monday evening, May 20, 2019
Reception at 5:00 p.m. • Dinner at 6:30 p.m.
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel • 606 Congress Street • Boston, MA


Karen Holmes Ward
“CityLine” Host, Director of Public Affairs
WCVB Channel 5


Dan Koh, Partner, HqO & Amy J. Sennett, Deputy General Counsel, Catalant Technologies

Honorary Co-Chairs

Governor Charlie Baker & First Lady Lauren Baker
Eileen & Jack Connors
Jean C. Tempel


The Tenth Annual Dr. Jim O’Connell Award Recipient:

Mayor Martin J. Walsh

Read more

The Tenth Annual Tim Russert Award Recipient:

Paul English, Local Entrepreneur & Chief Technology Officer of Lola

Read more

Dinner Committee

Mary-Jo Adams & John Sasso
Erin & Jackie Bradley, Jr.
Pattie & Jim Brett
Miceal Chamberlain, Jr.
Mary & Joseph D’Arrigo
Jennifer & Dennis Eckersley
Anne Finucane & Mike Barnicle
Philip W. Johnston
Ann Marie & William Kennedy, Esq.
Mary Kelleher & Kevin Leary
Stacey & Larry Lucchino
Joanne & Al Minahan
Jennifer & Edmund F. Murphy, III
Tiffany & David Ortiz
Susan & Thomas Reilly
Duncan Stuart
Peggy & Steve Tringale
Suzy & Jack Welch
Phyllis Yale
Hope & Larry Zabar

The event is currently sold out!


For more information, please contact Alyssa Brassil, Director of the Annual Fund, 857.654.1046, abrassil@bhchp.org.


Media Sponsor